6/1/13 Rain, Go Away!

I think all this rain is making my people act a little silly.  For one thing, they are laughing at everything, even if it’s not even funny.  They must need to run around a little bit.

Take the rake, for example.  Mom had a small rake against the house.  I decided to investigate and dragged it out.  Then it was bigger than I thought, so I dropped it.  Later on, I saw it again, and decided it was an intruder in the yard, and went into my “guard dog” stance, standing over it and barking and barking.  Jamie and Mom watched from the window, and thought this was hilariously funny for absolutely no reason at all.

Mom put the rake back against the house, but by then I’d figured out it was no big deal and dragged it out again a few minutes later.  I dragged it around a while, until I heard them laughing, saying, “Look, she’s raking up the yard!”  More laughter.  I really didn’t see what was so funny about this, even if I did have the rake in my mouth by the handle.

Next, there was the stick incident.  All dogs like to chew on sticks and I am no exception.  So I found myself a stick – it was easy to find, with all the sticks and stuff having been knocked down with the rain – and settled down in the wet grass for a nice chew.  However, first I lay across the rake to make sure HE wasn’t going anywhere.  Then I started in on a lovely chew.  Quite satisfying.  However, the next thing I knew, Jamie and Mom are at the back door, roaring with laughter, and I hear them say, “Other dogs pick up a stick, our dog picks up a tree branch bigger than my arm!” and, “Look, she’s chewing half a tree!”

Really, I don’t see what’s so funny.  I think the rain is making my people act as bad as the squirrels!

Leave a comment