6/9/13, The Great Escape (sort of)

We have a very large, pie-slice shaped backyard.  It’s almost 3/4 of an acre, so it’s big for us, especially when it’s time to get out Lawn Mower.  We also have a sizable chunk of side yard, where Mom would like to build a Gazebo, whatever that is (sounds like a soup), but Dad says, “No” because it backs up into the woods, and he thinks people will hide in it and get “drunk”. 

Anyway, it’s been a while since Dad got out Weed Whacker, whom I have learned is Lawn Mower’s litter mate, and cut down the tall grass and weeds growing by the fence.  So no one but me was aware of the many holes on the bottom of it!  I noticed them while chasing rabbits, and waited for my chance.

My first opportunity was when Mom was in the shower (again) and Jamie was working on that computer-thing that the humans are addicted to, like I am addicted to chewing.  I slipped through the hole and went to the front of the house, and sat on the curb.  We live on a cul-de-sac next to a retention pond, so I didn’t really have to worry much about cars.  I didn’t run, and I didn’t jump on anybody.  Pretty soon, one of the neighbor kids came and told Jamie on me, and he came out and snapped the lead on my collar and back in the house I went!  I wagged my tail and tried to make him understand that I was just watching down the street to see if Bruce Willis was really coming to get Mom like she said, but no one understood me.

Mom told Dad that the fence had to be fixed TODAY.  so, they got their supplies and everybody went into the yard and started fixing the holes.  But nobody knew where all the holes were, but me.  So while they were in the yard, I slipped out again to show them.  While they sat in the grass on one side, I stood on the other side of the fence and barked so they would see the gaps.  Dad looked up and saw me standing there, wagging my tail.  He got a big smile on his face.  “I’m going to need more fencing supplies!”  he said. 

I may slip out, but I’ll never run away.  I’ve been home one month!  Life is good!

2 thoughts on “6/9/13, The Great Escape (sort of)

Leave a comment